This portal is dedicated to Vedic Astrology - Vedanga Jyotish, a science that is deep-rooted in Indian culture, tradition, and philosophy of life.

Mathematics of Astrology

Divisional Charts–Vargas

By Kshitij Sharma, May 11, 2014

Divisional charts are additional harmonics of a horoscope. These are calculated from the planetary positions of Lagna (ascendant) and the longitudes of all the other planets in a kundali. There is no parallel of a divisional chart in the Western Astrology and hence is is quite difficult to explain the reasoning behind the existence of divisional charts to an astrologer practicing only western astrology.

For calculating a divisional chart from the main rashi kundali, a given house or rashi is further divided into various divisions. These divisions are then further assigned rashis. Based on the longitude of the ascendant and the planets, they fall into these other divisions and a divisional chart is created.

Continue reading

Residential Strength – Avasiya Bala

By Kshitij Sharma, June 9, 2007

This post is in response to a question about strength of planet in a horoscope, that was asked in Vedic Astrology forum on this site. The reader “had presumed that the higher the degree, the more matured the planet and hence more powerful the planet”.

There are 5 avasthas of planets as shown below. These states are mentioned here for odd signs (Aries, Gemini etc.) and should be Continue reading


By Kshitij Sharma, September 23, 2006

Shadbala refers to strength of planet in a horoscope. Everywhere and every time during interpretation of a janma kundali and trying to make predictions, we refer to strength of a planet. We try to understand if a planet is really capable of producing the desired result in a Vedic horoscope. We try to provide arguments whether a planet has gained or lost strength due to position a friend’s or enemy’s house or has become more or less powerful due to aspects of other planets.

The Shadbala system of calculating strength takes the guesswork away from such an interpretation and brings it down to mathematical formulae. There are no more ambiguities left. The unit of strength of a planet in this system is called a “rupa”. A rupa is further divided into 60 virupas or shashtiamshas (literally translated as sixty divisions).

There are 6 main strength areas defined by Continue reading