This portal is dedicated to Vedic Astrology - Vedanga Jyotish, a science that is deep-rooted in Indian culture, tradition, and philosophy of life.

Divisional Charts–Vargas

By Kshitij Sharma, May 11, 2014

Divisional charts are additional harmonics of a horoscope. These are calculated from the planetary positions of Lagna (ascendant) and the longitudes of all the other planets in a kundali. There is no parallel of a divisional chart in the Western Astrology and hence is is quite difficult to explain the reasoning behind the existence of divisional charts to an astrologer practicing only western astrology.

For calculating a divisional chart from the main rashi kundali, a given house or rashi is further divided into various divisions. These divisions are then further assigned rashis. Based on the longitude of the ascendant and the planets, they fall into these other divisions and a divisional chart is created.

As an astrologer or an enthusiast, one need not worry about how to compute these divisional charts. Almost all the programs, including the one hosted on this site take care of the divisional chart calculation automatically. Therefore, one needs to only remember how to interpret these divisional charts.

Structure of divisional charts
These divisional charts may look the same in structure. They too are drawn like the South Indian or North India kundali. They have an ascendant and ascendant lord. The too have 12 houses and a clear rashi and house lord corresponding. However, they are mathematical in nature and cannot correspond to rashi charts. The planetary positions indicated in some of the divisional charts are impossible to have in the physical world. e.g. Rahu and Ketu are always 180° apart. However, they are always seen together in the same house in D6 and D24 kundalis. In reality, the maximum angular distance between Sun and Mercury is 28°. Therefore, they would always either be in the same house in rashi kundali or in adjacent houses. However,  they can be seen more than  5 house apart in divisional charts. Therefore, we should never make a mistake of reading a divisional chart in place of a rashi kundali.

Interpretation using Divisional Charts
The divisional charts provide insights into various aspects of human life. A divisional chart provides a method with fine granularity. E.g. a rashi chart may provide information about how 10th house, but it is necessary to look at the dashamsha (d-10) chart to look at the granular aspects of profession, vocation. 7th house in a kundali represents the spouse. In the same way, 7th house in dashamsha is important and represents partnerships. It is therefore a very important aspects while judging if a person will go into a new business venture or serve others by being in a job. This type of interpretation is very difficult to be judged from from a normal rashi chart. These are the various charts that are studied.

Types of Divisional Charts

  1. Rasi (D-1) Main rashi chart – existence and death
  2. Hora (D-2) Wealth and money
  3. Drekkana (D-3) Brothers and sisters – younger as well as elder siblings
  4. Chaturthamsa (D-4) Houses, acquisition of immovable properties
  5. Panchamsa (D-5) Fame, authority and power
  6. Shashthamsa (D-6) Diseases, surgery, health problems
  7. Saptamsa (D-7) Children and grand children
  8. Navamsa (D-9) Marriage and spouses. Navamsha is one of the most important divisional charts and is studied to ascertain the general strength of the planets in main horoscope. A planet that occupies the same sign in Rashi and Navamsha kundali is called Vargottama and is considered powerful. Same lagna for rashi chart as well as Navamsha chart is called Vargottama lagna and is considered to give a support to lagna and entire horoscope.
  9. Dwadasamsa (D-12) Parents, grandparents are seen from D-12
  10. Shodasamsa (D-16) Vehicles, pleasures, comforts and discomforts

There are other charts as well, but for day to day predictions, the above list is more than enough.

Strength/Weakness of the planets in these kundalis
Strength of planets is also seen from divisional charts apart from the main kundali. It is possible that a planet is exalted in rashi kundali, but is debilitated in one or more of the divisional charts. If it does, it loses the ability to use its strength to further its agenda for the given horoscope. Strength of planets in the divisional charts provides a good mechanism to understand why some of seemingly straight forward yogas, raja-yogas do not seem functional in a horoscope. A planet gains strength based on whether it is in own sign, exaltation etc. in these divisional charts. It does not gain strength though if it is debilitated or powerless in the basic rashi chart.

The pitfalls any of the student of astrology must keep in mind are as follows:

  • Accuracy of time of birth is extremely important. If the time difference is even few mins, a lot of divisional kundalis change and thus the inherent character of the chart changes. Therefore, if you are not completely sure of the time of birth, then do not attempt drawing up higher order charts unless reasonable rectification techniques have been used for the horoscope.
  • A difference in Ayamsha correction could throw up a completely different chart.
  • In general, there is  lack of reading material available on the divisional charts. There are very few working examples available.
  • These must always be read along with the rashi chart and never alone.
  • Do not mix two divisional charts, e.g. Shashthamsa and Dashamsha together. E.g. while looking at profession/vocation, looking at planet positions in Shashthamsa chart simultaneously will not help.

One comment

Please follow this link for Contact and Consultation.

Before submitting a comment on VEDIC ASTROLOGY, please understand that discussions/messages on the forum and on the blog are visible to the visitors of the site as public information and you allow the site to use the comment appropriately in the articles and notes. Inappropriate and irrelevant comments will be removed at an admin’s discretion. Your email is used for verification purposes only, it will never be shared. Please go through the Terms of Use in the footer of the page.